Philadelphia’s FDH Records has announced a deluxe reissue of Lost Sounds’ 2001 double album Black Wave. Black Wave marked the second LP from Lost Sounds—the Memphis band that formed in 1999 and featured the late Jay Reatard, Alicja Trout (River City Tanlines, Black Sunday), Rich Crook (the Reatards, Lover!, Thing), and Jonas Garland.

The LP has been out of print since its initial release, but come July 2019, FDH will release a remastered version of the record on two 180 gram black vinyl LPs, along with a gatefold cover featuring additional art not included in the original pressing of the album. The first edition of reissues will be limited to 500 copies. FDH has also reprinted “Electric Rat” Lost Sounds posters that glow in the dark. Posters are hand-numbered and limited to 150 copies. You can preorder the LP and poster here. Scroll down for artwork below.

Lost Sounds disbanded in 2005, and Jay Reatard went on to perform under his own moniker until his death in 2010. He was 29 years old when he died from a fatal mixture of cocaine and alcohol. After Reatard’s death, the remaining members of Lost Sounds regrouped with the addition of Jon Grissom (the Black & Whites). In 2011, Lost Sounds released a best-of compilation called Blac Static. The Following year, they shared a rarities compilation titled Lost Lost: Demos, Sounds, Alternate Takes & Unused Songs 1999-2004.

Revisit “Jay Reatard’s Lost Legacy, Five Years After His Death” on the Pitch.

Jay Reatard’s Early Band Lost Sounds Get New Reissue 1

Jay Reatard’s Early Band Lost Sounds Get New Reissue 2